Staff

 


General enquiries:

T: +61 2 9351 7249
F: +61 2 9351 6877
E: us-studies@sydney.edu.au

 


 

Mark Baillie

Chair of the Board of Directors


Mark Baillie was appointed Chair of the Board of Directors at the US Studies Centre in November 2015.… more


Dr Thomas Adams

Lecturer in History and American Studies

thomas.adams@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 9036 7948


Expertise: Race, gender, and economic Inequality in America, US domestic and electoral politics, Latin American/Caribbean-US foreign affairs, "social" political issues such as abortion, gay rights, cu… more


Susan Beale

Communications Manager

susan.beale@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 9036 5087


Susan manages a team responsible for the development and delivery of the US Studies Centre's digital and print communications strategy. This includes the Centre's websites, newsletter and email campai… more


Feed

Jonathan Bradley

Media Officer

jonathan.bradley@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 9114 2683


Jonathan Bradley has been with the US Studies Centre since 2008 — first as a student in the master's program and currently as a member of staff. A Sydneysider and occasional Seattleite, Jonathan… more


Adjunct Associate Professor James Brown

Adjunct Associate Professor & Research Director

brown.james@sydney.edu.au


Expertise: Australian defence and strategic policy, US defence and strategic policy, Australia-US political relations, all research produced by Alliance 21… more


Sandy Burgoyne

Director of the Future Cities Collaborative

sandy.burgoyne@sydney.edu.au


Sandy is an experienced business executive whose career includes 20 years in developing and leading business strategy, marketing, change and business transformation within the telecommunication, retai… more


Stephanie Dunstan

Director of Communications

stephanie.dunstan@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 9114 2668


Stephanie Dunstan is Director of Communications at the United States Studies Centre at the University of Sydney.… more


Nina Fudala

Strategic Media Consultant

n.fudala@bigpond.com

Phone: +61 409 321 918


Nina Fudala is a media and public relations professional, drawing on vast experience in mainstream journalism, senior roles in media management, international relations, public diplomacy and media tra… more


Feed

Dr Sarah Graham

Lecturer in US Foreign Policy

se.graham@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 8627 4136


Expertise: US relations with India, Pakistan and the South Asia region, US foreign policy and defense issues in Asia, Australasia and the Middle East, US political debates around foreign policy and de… more


Dr Gorana Grgic

Lecturer in US Politics and Foreign Policy

gorana.grgic@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 8627 0128


Expertise: US domestic politics and foreign policy, US-Russia relations, foreign intervention in conflicts, transatlantic relations, ethnic conflicts and conflict resolution.… more


Feed

Max Halden

Media Manager

max.halden@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 9036 9137


Max Halden is a recent graduate of Sydney University with a Bachelor of Arts (Media and Communications), who has written articles for the Sydney Morning Herald on a diverse range of topics ranging fro… more


Jennifer Kline

Student Mobility Manager

jennifer.kline@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 9114 2621


Jenny manages a team responsible for the development and delivery of the US Studies Centre's study abroad and internship program strategies. This includes such programs as the G'Day USA American Insig… more


Andrea Koch

Director of the Soil Carbon Initiative

andrea.koch@sydney.edu.au


Andrea Koch leads the Soil Carbon Initiative, a project of the Dow Sustainability Program at the United States Studies Centre. From a fifth generation Australian farming family, she brings together he… more


Andrew Kwon

Program Associate, Alliance 21

yong.kwon@sydney.edu.au


Andrew Yong-chang Kwon is a Program Associate for the Alliance 21 Program.… more


Kathryn McNulty

Events Manager

kathryn.mcnulty@sydney.edu.au


Kathryn has worked in Australia and the US in range of industries, including the disability sector and TV, specialising in events management, conferences and post-production.… more


Feed

Dr Aaron Nyerges

Lecturer

aaron.nyerges@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 8627 0170


Expertise: American literature, trans-Atlantic negotiations of American cultural products, book adaptations, sound studies.… more


Associate Professor Brendon O'Connor

Associate Professor in American Politics

brendon.oconnor@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 9036 9206


Expertise: US presidential and congressional elections, US domestic politics and foreign policy, US political history, American-Australian relations, cultural politics in the US.… more


April Palmerlee

Head of Communications & Events

april.palmerlee@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 9114 2688


April Palmerlee is Head of Communications and Events at the US Studies Centre.… more


Professor Susan Pond AM, FTSE

Consultant and Adjunct Professor in Sustainability


Susan Pond has led the Alternative Transport Fuels Initiative at the United States Studies Centre since her appointment in 2010 to the Dow Sustainability Program.… more


William Read

Research Assistant and Project Coordinator

william.read@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 9114 2634


William is the program coordinator and research assistant for the MacArthur project “Emerging US Security Partnerships in Southeast Asia” and the “Research Network on America’s… more


Karmelia Rosa

Finance Assistant

karmelia.rosa@sydney.edu.au


Karmelia is a Finance Assistant at the US Studies Centre. Her responsibilities include accounting duties such as processing AP and AR, credit card reconciliations as well as other administrative dutie… more


Dr Rebecca Sheehan

Lecturer in US History

rebecca.sheehan@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 9036 9208


Expertise: Rock music history, women in popular culture, history of social movements in the US, cultural politics in the US including race, gender, religion and sexualityRebecca joined the United Stat… more


Dr David Smith

Senior Lecturer in American Politics and Foreign Policy & USSC Academic Director

david.smith@sydney.edu.au


Expertise: Religion in the Untied States, US elections and presidential politics, US domestic politics and foreign policy, US political history.Dr David Smith is jointly appointed between the United S… more


Tom Switzer

Research Associate and Editor of American Review

tom.switzer@sydney.edu.au


Expertise: The US-led campaign against terrorism, US elections and presidential politics, US-Russia relations, US-Australia relations.… more


Cindy Tang

Finance Manager

cindy.tang@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 9034 2638


Cindy has been working in accounting roles for more than five years; she has experience in financial accounting, management accounting and administration duties. Prior to joining the Centre, she worke… more


Dr Rodney Taveira

Lecturer in American Studies

rodney.taveira@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 9114 2617


Expertise: American literature, American and European film (silent era to present), US television, comedy in the US, US popular culture, queer and sexuality studiesRodney Taveira joined the United Sta… more


Ashley Townshend

Research Fellow, Alliance 21 Program

ashley.townshend@sydney.edu.au


Ashley Townshend is a Research Fellow in the Alliance 21 Program. He specialises in international security and strategic affairs with a regional focus on China, Northeast Asia, and the Indo-Pacific re… more


Amelia Trial

Student Affairs Manager

amelia.trial@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 9036 5086


Amelia graduated with a Bachelors degree in History from the University of Connecticut. Before Joining the Centre she worked in a law office in Boston, Massachusetts.… more


Meghan Walters

Office Co-ordinator and Personal Assistant

meghan.walters@sydney.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 9351 7249


Meghan manages the US Studies Centre office resources and provides personal assistance to the CEO and COO. Meghan previously held positions in the recruitment and law industries and has recently retur… more


Harriet Whyte

Program Associate, Future Cities Collaborative

harriet.whyte@sydney.edu.au


Harriet is a recent graduate from the University of Sydney with a Bachelor of International and Global Studies (Honours) degree. Harriet has a keen interest in urban policy development, and is focused… more


 

See also:

 

Back to top

VIDEOS & INTERVIEWS

Gorana Grgic

US to deploy 100 special forces to Iraq

Lecturer Gorana Grgic discusses the deployment of 100 US special operations troops to Iraq on Sky News.


Tom Switzer

Breaking down Obama's speech on terrorism

Research associate Tom Switzer discusses President Obama's speech on terrorism on Bloomberg TV.

Join our mailing list   Follow us on Facebook   Watch us on YouTube   Join the conversation on Twitter
Connect with us on LinkedIn   View our photos on Flickr   See what we're up to on Instagram   Subscribe to our RSS feeds